Year One – Free Time

On Monday, I will be starting a real job. A real, 9-5, Mon-Fri, paying-my-taxes kinda job. I’ll even have my own desk. As this terrifying and exciting date draws ever nearer, I find myself quite determined to come up with lots of things to fill my free time with. In fact, the very notion of free time is pretty novel. Up until about a month ago, I only ever had spare time. Spare, in the sense that nothing unavoidable was happening, but I should probably be using it for some other useful pursuit, such as reading academic journals, or writing my dissertation, or filling out job applications. Now these considerations are a thing of the past, along with the creeping guilt that accompanied the occasions where I used my spare time to do fun things. Now I have FREE time. And that means time for blogging. So this is going to be a thing that happens more often…

Leave a Reply

